School Districts

There are six school districts operating in the County. See Map ( The largest are the Okoboji Community School District with 991 students and the Spirit Lake Community School District with 1,275 students. Each school district is managed by a Superintendent and an elected School Board. Dickinson County participates with five other counties as part of the Iowa Lakes Community College system. ILCC is based in Estherville and has campus locations in Algona, Emmetsburg, Estherville, Spencer, and Spirit Lake. Website